Celebrating 20 years of progress, partnerships and accomplishments Published on: 20-Aug-2018

The Nanyang Fellows 20th anniversary is not just an ordinary anniversary. It celebrates the transformational differences made by the Nanyang Fellows. 

For the past 20 years, the Nanyang Fellows MBA programme has transformed many high-potential young men and women into visionary leaders who now hold influential positions around the world. 
The Programme now has an alumni of 400 members spanning more than 35 nationalities. 
On 5th May, Nanyang Business School (NBS) celebrated its Nanyang Fellows 20th Anniversary at the Capitol Theatre to mark this significant milestone.

The anniversary celebrations kicked off with a welcome address by Assoc Prof Nilanjan Sen, (Associate Dean, Graduate Studies), followed by a keynote address by NTU president Professor Subra Suresh.

NTU president Subra Suresh attended the NF20 anniversary celebrations with his wife Mrs Mary Suresh. They were delighted to be there to share in the celebrations. 


One of the highlights of the anniversary celebrations was the panel discussion that took place after Prof Suresh’s keynote address. Ms Sharanjit Leyl, producer and presenter of the BBC World News, moderated the session - ‘Managing Business in Asia in an Era of Digital Transformation’.

During the panel discussion, Ms Sharanjit Leyl (left) highlighted certain key points in order for the audience to understand better.

Panellists include Mr Tan Yinglan, CEO and Managing Partner, Insignia Venture Partners, Mr Sam Liew, Managing Director,  Technology, ASEAN, Accenture, Ms Low Peck Kem, Chief Human Resources Officer & Senior Director (Workforce Development), Singapore Public Service Division, Prime Minister’s Office and Mr Amit Roy Choudhury, Journalist and Consultant.
NBS dean Professor Robert Kennedy delivering his welcome address at the gala dinner

Guests were then invited to a gala dinner as well as an awards ceremony, later that evening.

For the first time in NBS, awards were presented to commend the efforts and contributions of outstanding Nanyang Fellows alumni, as well as faculty and partners.

Outstanding MBA graduates Mr Desmond Tan and Dr Thet Thet Khine were among the nine alumni who were awarded the Nanyang Fellows Distinguished Alumni Award.

Nine Nanyang Fellows were awarded the Nanyang Fellows Distinguished Alumni Award. This award accords the highest commendation to Nanyang Fellows who have made transformational differences in their areas of expertise. They are: 
Mr Chu Viet Cuong (Class of 2001)
Mr Peter Wee Soon Beng (Class of 2001)
Mr Tung Yui Fai (Class of 2002)
Mr Wang Minzheng (Class of 2004)
Mr Desmond Tan Kok Ming (Class of 2008)
Dr Thet Thet Khine (Class of 2008)
Dr Ernie Widianty Rahardjo (Class of 2009)
Mr Talgat Chinikeyev (Class of 2011)

Colonel Goh Jerica (Class of 2011)

At the awards ceremony, NTU president Prof Subra Suresh presented the ‘Nanyang Fellows Faculty Recognition Award’ to Emeritus Professor Lim Chong Yah.


Apart from the outstanding Nanyang Fellows, the school also presented the Nanyang Fellows Faculty Recognition Award to Emeritus Professor Lim Chong Yah, who is a well-respected economist in Singapore and the Asia-Pacific. Seven organisations were the awardees of the ‘Nanyang Fellows Partner Recognition Award’ – Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Manpower, Ministry of National Development, Singapore-China Foundation and Pakistan Packages.

The journey of personal and professional growth of Nanyang Fellows have borne fruit and many of them now hold influential positions around the world. 

VIPs and guests enjoyed the anniversary celebrations and gave positive feedback. 
Mrs Mary Suresh wrote to us, saying, “Congratulations to you and your team for organising a most delightful and successful event. We really enjoyed the opportunity to meet distinguished guests, Nanyang Fellows, as well as the faculty and staff of NBS.”
NBS Assoc Prof Hooi Den Huan said, “The forum was very informative and the dinner event was very enjoyable. I feel really happy that we have such a Singaporean talent as Sharanjit Leyl. She’s not only a distinguished presenter but also a very skillful moderator.”

“The anniversary celebrations went extremely well. Congratulations and thanks to the NBS team for working so hard to make it a success,” NBS Adj Prof Hong Hai added.


Related News

Published on: 02-Nov-2019

11/02/2019 - 10:02
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore) is honouring 39 alumni for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the University and to society at the NTU Annual Homecoming this year. 
Malay-language literary pioneer Mr Suratman Markasan; Mr Thomas Chua Kee Seng, Managing Director at Teckwah Industrial Corp. Ltd.; and Mr Zaqy Mohamad, Minister of State for National Development and Manpower, are receiving the Nanyang Distinguished Alumni Award, the highest honour bestowed on the University's alumni.
10/19/2019 - 15:12

Published on: 19-Oct-2019

​• The building for the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences  is named Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan building

10/19/2019 - 09:54